• Welcome to AngelsWin.com

AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

Register today to comment and join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. If you become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

IGNORED

The Challenger Anniversary

Tank

37 years ago today in 1986, the Space Shuttle “Challenger” broke apart 73 seconds into its flight. It exploded and the remaining parts fell down to the Atlantic Ocean from 43,000 feet. All seven members of the crew died. It was the first fatal space flight accident in U.S history. Where were you on that fateful day?

I was a second year teacher. I had a planning period to start the day and was excited about the first teacher going up in space. Was even planning to try and follow a couple of the lessons she was going to teach while up there. l didn't have a tv in my room so I wasn't watching. Our school secretary came in and told me the news, and I turned on my radio. We wheeled in the tv cart and watched with all the 7-10 graders for the next hour or two. It was pretty devastating. I had told the kids that I wished I could have been selected for the program but I lacked the necessary years of teaching experience to apply. Made it known to the kids how much I wished I could go to space. While watching the coverage, one of my girls came up to me and said, "You still wish you could have gone up on this mission?" She was being really snarky about it. I would have been thrilled to up on another mission as soon as I was qualified to go.

download-6.jpg

4 hours ago, Taylor said:

What's tragic is that several people noticed something was amiss and urged NASA not to allow the shuttle to take off, but they did anyway.

not contesting that. asking where you were on that day.