• Welcome to AngelsWin.com

AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

Register today to comment and join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. If you become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

IGNORED

Ireland Pros

My wife and I are strongly considering a week-ish long trip to Ireland in 2024 (sans the kids).

We haven't booked anything yet. Any pro tips? Travel, must-see things, hidden gems, etc.

We'd stay in Dublin the whole time, and rent a car to get around.

I'm not an expert, but did vacation there a few years back. Not to dump on your plans, but staying in Dublin the whole trip is exactly the opposite of what I would recommend. We booked 3 days in Dublin and by day 3 I was looking for somewhere else to go, so we booked a day trip to the Wicklow Mountains, which I did enjoy.  On the west coast of Ireland is what they call the Wild Atlantic Way and was definitely the most impressive scenery. We really enjoyed Dingle, and a driving around what they call The Dingle Loop. (I would definitely recommend that one over the much longer, and I thought less impressive Ring of Kerry Loop.) After coming up from Dingle, we stayed in Galway, which is the 2nd largest city, not a lot to see in the city outside of an impressive pub/music scene, but it is a good launching off point. Unfortunately, when we went to Cliffs of Moher it was completely fogged in, so missed out on that. We did spend a day in the Connemara region, which was also quite drivable from Galway and I loved that drive and scenery.

If you do the Jameson tour, try to do the one in Midleton, which is the actual distillery, I had read the one in Dublin was more of a touristy thing.  There is a distillery in Dublin, Teeling whiskey, so I would tour that one instead. We enjoyed that. We did the Guiness Tour as well,  I enjoyed that.