Jump to content
  • Welcome to AngelsWin.com

    AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

    Register today to join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

    Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. Become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

     

Interpretor mound visits


Tank

Recommended Posts

have never seen this addressed or really needed to have it answered before, but wondered about it last night . . .

let's say that ohtani is pitching. the catcher or SS wants to talk with him. can the interpreter leave the dugout to join them on the mound without it counting as a visit from the manager/coach? or would it count as one of the official visits? seems like it could be abused and sosh could send him out there with messages. anyone know?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think any personnel going to the mound - be it catcher, Nagy, Simmons, Sosh - counts as a mound visit.

I think the only time it doesn't count is in event of an injury - which I'm sure teams will exploit to a degree.

If a meeting results in a pitching change, it doesn't count towards the 6, correct? If so that seems like something else teams may exploit, making an occasional unnecessary pitching change just to keep it from counting against the limit - which seems to go against the idea of using limits to reduce pace of play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

22 minutes ago, Tank said:

have never seen this addressed or really needed to have it answered before, but wondered about it last night . . .

let's say that ohtani is pitching. the catcher or SS wants to talk with him. can the interpreter leave the dugout to join them on the mound without it counting as a visit from the manager/coach? or would it count as one of the official visits? seems like it could be abused and sosh could send him out there with messages. anyone know?

 

19 minutes ago, totdprods said:

I think any personnel going to the mound - be it catcher, Nagy, Simmons, Sosh - counts as a mound visit. 

I think the only time it doesn't count is in event of an injury

Correct

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Plus how does the umpire or the other team know that the interpreter is only translating the coach or manager message and not also independently advising Ohtani?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

27 minutes ago, Dtwncbad said:

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Plus how does the umpire or the other team know that the interpreter is only translating the coach or manager message and not also independently advising Ohtani?

Uh.. wow.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

43 minutes ago, Dtwncbad said:

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Plus how does the umpire or the other team know that the interpreter is only translating the coach or manager message and not also independently advising Ohtani?

It's allowed by MLB rules

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Dtwncbad said:

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Plus how does the umpire or the other team know that the interpreter is only translating the coach or manager message and not also independently advising Ohtani?

Well that took a slightly racist turn.... 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Dtwncbad said:

Obviously

Yeah, I was going to add (had to leave suddenly) that it's been that way for about 5 years, so it would take another vote to change the rule, which will not never happen. It basically allowed teams an extra "coach" on the bench, whether it be a second hitting coach, an interpreter, etc.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, TroutField said:

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I'm wondering if there's a team in MLB who doesn't have an infielder who knows Spanish. 

Edited by Lou
Link to comment
Share on other sites

The interpreter is allowed any time. Obviously he wouldn’t go out by himself, so it counts as a visit because he’s joined by the catcher and/or pitching coach. 

Where it’s interesting is you are allowed 6 visits in a game, but only 1 per pitcher per inning *from the dugout,* before you have to make a change. 

So, say Nagy goes to talk to Ohtani, bringing Ippei with him. Later in the inning, Maldonado wants to talk to Ohtani. He can bring Ippei, but not Nagy, because then it would be a second visit from the dugout.

Youll also notice that sometimes Maldonado goes out there without Ippei. I asked about that. They say Ohtani can understand enough for a basic talk, and sometimes it’s only to slow him down or give him a break. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, Dtwncbad said:

If I really bend my brain to think about this subject, I end up believing that no interpreter should be allowed to accompany a coach or manager to the mound.

We never had any Spanish interpreters go to the mound when Spanish speakers not knowing English came into the league.

I am fine with it as an Angel fan since it helps the Angels but if he were on another team I would be ticked.  He doesn't speak English?  Too bad!  That's your problem!

Plus how does the umpire or the other team know that the interpreter is only translating the coach or manager message and not also independently advising Ohtani?

when do you want me to bring over the tiki torches and noose?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

One other exception in the rules that I believe was left in is that in certain situations a catcher can visit the pitcher if the previous pitch resulted in a cross-up, eg. he called for a curveball and got a fastball.  This would presumably be a safety precaution, and subject to umpire discretion.  In this case the visit would not count.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

22 minutes ago, tomsred said:

One other exception in the rules that I believe was left in is that in certain situations a catcher can visit the pitcher if the previous pitch resulted in a cross-up, eg. he called for a curveball and got a fastball.  This would presumably be a safety precaution, and subject to umpire discretion.  In this case the visit would not count.

Those count as visits. It's only subject to the ump's discretion if a team is out of visits. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...