• Welcome to AngelsWin.com

AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

Register today to comment and join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. If you become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

IGNORED

Ohtani and the Hall of Fame - Angel or Dodger?

Duren, Duren

Bear with my preamble, I'm trying to throw some light on how an HOF induction can be controversial years after the fact. 

Let me state at the start. I'm a veteran of watching disgruntled HOF players about to be inducted. 

As a former Expo fan I have experience with a marginalized franchise outside the mainstream of MLB focus. 

The Expos have four home grown  HOF players who came up through their system and put up big numbers with them.  Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Tim Raines and Larry Walker. 

Walker's prime was in Colorado though he was emerging as an all star before literally being given away in a fire sale as the franchise went into it's death cycle. So going into the HOF as a Rockie is appropriate. 

This week Andre Dawson still showed decades of bitterness about the Expos and is currently trying to have his HOF placque and profile changed to the Cubs. His resentment goes back to his injuries and his perception of being disrespected. Conversely he won an MVP with the Cubs and was treated as a hero. Statistically his body of work with the Expos was longer, and his stats more impressive in more categories. 

Carter was the first home grown star of the franchise and one of the most prominent athletes in Canada. He did many commercials and was everywhere in the media. While honing his game and becoming a perennial all star for multiple years. But in a shock trade to the Mets he found an even bigger spotlight and capped it off with the 1986 World Series. So when the HOF came calling, his sentiments were with New York.