Jump to content
  • Welcome to AngelsWin.com

    Join The Internet Home for Angels fans today! AngelsWin.com - Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

  • AngelsWin.com's Charity of the Month

DH rules question. Fletcher?


Recommended Posts

Can you even go from DH to a position?

If so, wouldn’t the pitcher just take over the DH spot in the batting order? So if Ohtani finished the inning pitching, and the pitcher/DH spot then came up in the lineup, he would hit just as he would if he never departed the DH spot. But if someone else came into pitch before the pitcher/DH spot came up again, then they would take over that spot. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Erstad Grit said:

If Ohtani is DH.

He comes in to pitch and finishes an inning as a reliever.

Pitcher spot comes up to bat, he hits for himself as pitcher since DH is forfeited.

Is all this legal? 

I'll take my answer off the air. 

 

 

Going forward it will all depend on what Gavin Newsome wants to allow or regulate that day.

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Erstad Grit said:

If Ohtani is DH.

He comes in to pitch and finishes an inning as a reliever.

Pitcher spot comes up to bat, he hits for himself as pitcher since DH is forfeited.

Is all this legal? 

I'll take my answer off the air. 

 

 

It should be legal.

If the DH enters the field, the team forfeits the DH and the pitcher enters the batting order in the DH's place.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I just went through the rules and there is no specific rule designation accounting for the DH coming in to pitch but there are a couple other sub rules that likely account for this scenario.  

Since the DH can only be for a pitcher then once the DH comes in to play defense, the pitcher has to hit.  So as long as Ohtani stayed in as the pitcher, he would get to hit as the pitcher.   

If a player came in from DH to play 1b for instance, then that play would still hit from the DH spot in the lineup but then the pitcher would have to hit in the 1bman's lineup slot.  

so the answer to your question is.....Four?  

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 weeks later...
23 minutes ago, Jeff Fletcher said:

Sorry I hadn’t been checking the board for a while. 
 

But this is correct. If Ohtani goes from DH to pitcher, he stays in the lineup as the pitcher. 

Thanks!

My thought was if he was DH and available as a late inning relief pitcher Angels could still squeeze another at bat from him and only lose the DH for a few innings. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...