• Welcome to AngelsWin.com

AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

Register today to comment and join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. If you become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

IGNORED

OC Register: New Angels manager Brad Ausmus believes he can blend baseball and analytics

This time around, he feels he still has that attribute, but with a significant addition.

Now he’s managed before.

“I was a new wave manager without experience who could relate to the players, but the truth of the matter is, experience helps you everywhere,” Ausmus said as he was introduced as the Angels’ 17th manager on Monday. “If you can still relate to players, and have experience as a manager, I don’t understand how that can’t be an asset.”

Ausmus, 49, was hired as the Angels manager because General Manager Billy Eppler saw in him the perfect mix of all the attributes they wanted. Boiled down, they wanted someone who could communicate with players, but who also could understand the analytical direction the game has gone.

Essentially, they wanted someone who could blend the worlds of the players in the clubhouse and the analysts crunching the numbers upstairs.

Ausmus, a Dartmouth graduate who said he was using analytics during his 18-year career as a big league catcher before they were even called analytics, believes he’s got the right mix.

“I can take the numbers and use my playing experience to wrap my brain around them and say ‘How does this apply on the dirt and grass?’” he said. “That’s a unique perspective. That’s what managers have to do nowadays, take those numbers and understand them – they don’t have to write the algorithm – but they need to understand and apply them to the players on the field.”