• Welcome to AngelsWin.com

AngelsWin.com - THE Internet Home for Angels fans! Unraveling Angels Baseball ... One Thread at a Time.

Register today to comment and join the most interactive online Angels community on the net!

Once you're a member you'll see less advertisements. If you become a Premium member and you won't see any ads! 

IGNORED

Wussification of America hits Little League

I've been an assistant coach on little league teams for 7 years now, and went to my youngest's practice after practice with my oldest this morning. I started warming him up since we were there first, and when the manager of his team got there, I was told adults can't throw to kids anymore. The manager proceeded to tell every dad that got there and started throwing with their kid, that it wasn't allowed, and can result in team penalties. No pop ups, no warm ups, not even a soft tossed rainbow. We can only roll them. Yes, we can hit batted balls to them, but no throws. I couldn't believe it, and hit up the manager I coach with on my older boy's team, and he confirmed that it is true. Wow. Unreal.

It is probably the league and not a coach. This is the kind of protect their own ass regardless of how much you devalue what they offer that soils the game. Having a sports monopoly gives them too much say in what goes on.

Edited by Eric Notti

I'm sure it's the result of a lawsuit. And I've hit my kid in the face warming him up before (rite of passage in little league to get a fat lip or a shiner in my opinion.). Anyway, I was told it's a little league rule, but I just went through the entire rule book and didn't see anything about it. I know it's not just the coach, it's league-wide. However, I'm trying to find out if it's a local district rule or if it's Little League in general.